AR15 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Ahhh crap.
The IRS is giving me a decent refund, and I've decided to get me an AR. :p
I'm completely new to the AR scene, and have an idea of what I want, and I've found that the CMMG bargain bin 16" M4gery is looking decent.
Mainly, I'm getting this for fun, occasional coyote hunting, and perhaps an SHTF scenario.

Thoughts:

I'll need iron sights, .gov isn't giving me THAT much money. I'm thinking something along the lines of a removable carry handle.

Stock... eh. The cheap one from CMMG isn't doing it for me. It will work for a while, but I'm looking at a CTR. Does anyone know if the bargain bin rifles come with the commercial or mil-spec buffer tubes?

Also, I'll eventually get a sling, probably single point.

So, here is the big question.

I would enjoy building one from scratch, but it seems that I would save some $$$ by just changing the parts I want from the CMMG bargain bin setup.

I've been looking over the posts of those who have received their rifles from CMMG, and have yet to see a negative post.

Thoughts?

G

·
Discussion Starter #2
i built a rifle off of a cmmg upper not one of the bargain bin rifles just a store bought 18" upper

well i am really happy with it

i dont know if it will be cheaper to build one or to swap parts out from the bargain bin one. i guess it all depends on what all you will change out

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
The advantage of the CMMG is that it is put together for you and you would have a fully functional rifle in the time it takes to get it shipped. The con is that it doesn't have a carry handle or rear sight which adds cost to you. It also is a toss up what lower receiver brand you end up with since it is basically a grab bag which one they give you.