AR15 Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been hearing a lot about AR fans. I have no military background and have read MANY forum postings and wikipedia articles, but cannot figure a few things out:

1) Maybe a loaded question, but what is the difference between an M-16, M4, M6, LWRC, CAR, A4, etc.?

2) I am looking at building one just because I think it is interesting to build one from scratch just to say "I built it myself" (even if from a complete "kit"). I am very mechanically inclined and have worked on many revolvers and semi-auto pistols. Can you save money by buying the parts? I realize that if you buy one and have to upgrade parts, that would raise the overall cost. My question refers to building one identical to an RRA spec or something.

3) I have seen that chart around here discussing the different makers. Most of it doesn't make any sense to me (i.e. bolt configurations, etc.) Are RRA and LMT good brands? What's the real difference?

4) I'm kind of looking at a RRA Gov't model.
http://www.rockriverarms.com/item-d...image=gov07.gif&CFID=6373035&CFTOKEN=27100757
Seems to have everything I would want on it and looks sweet! What price should I be looking at spending buying from ar15sales.com, etc. or building an identical one.

Maybe I'm in the wrong direction with this, and any guidance would be appreciated!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well the RRA Gov't model could be diplicated alot cheaper than the $2290 msrp on the RRA website. The add on parts are the Surefire M73, the Surefire M951 and theEOTech 552, about 800 bux.

Unless you have or will get night vision, you can get the EOTech 512 which is alot cheaper than the 552. The M73 can be had for $120 or so used, and the M951 for less than $200.

Example, I have bought these items over the past year or so.

Surefire M961, new, $175
EoTech 512, LNIB, $250
Surefire M73 LNIB, $100

total $525