AR15 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to guns and am thinking about geting a AR-15 I was wondering what the little plunger type thing does on the side of the AR?
(sorry about the pic it was the best one I could find that showed it)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Not an AR freak but here is what I think I know:

Hello Kitty Rocks.
Kommiefornia Sucks.

Oh yeah. Its called a forward assist. Its meant to force the bolt carrier forward if it got too dirty or if it couldn't for forward for what ever. It pushes a piston like thing into the bolt carrier. It contacts it where it has a lot of little slots cut into it and forces it forward a few mm at a time.

It works off the theory that "if it wont close beat it until it does".

It is a funny AR/M16/M4/etc thing, because basically they are saying "The design is inherently flawed so here is a band-aid."

I like the AR's though!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It is a funny AR/M16/M4/etc thing, because basically they are saying "The design is inherently flawed so here is a band-aid."

I like the AR's though!
IMO I think due to the fact that the M-16/AR not having anything external directly connected to the bolt such as the charging handle on the AK, which cycles with the bolt, they needed to be something that could push the bolt forward. :confused:

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
the original M16 did not have the forwards assist, after field testing they learned that they needed this, and unless you aggressively chambered a round the bolt would not seat properly. i have an rock river new manufacture and unless i do a full charging motion , the round does not always seat.

make sure that when you clean the rifle that you push the forward assist and take a qtip or something to clean any dirt, carbon, or other grime that accumulates into there.

that tiny area is a Sergeant's fav hidey hole in order to bust someone with a dirty rifle failed inspection.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·