AR15 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I shot my first AR on Saturday and fell in love with it so I'm ordering one tomorrow! I'm pretty new to the platform but I spent some time yesterday doing some research and just learning about the rifle in general.

I'm looking into the Stag model 1 but didn't see too much about this company. I know there are TONS of manufactures and parts out there but as a first AR out of the box how does this compare to the others?

I know I want a 16" barrel, flat top with handguard and retractable stock but thats about it.

I'll be ordering it through my local gun smith who is very reputable and knowledgeable and this is what he recommended. He's also going to blue print it, change the foregrip so its a free floating barrel.

Basically I'm looking for a rifle with great quality and accuracy that will last out of the box. I may add optics to it down there road but for now I'll stick with the iron sights.

I'm going to confirm everything tomorrow and hes going to order it then.

Just wanted to see what you guys thought since theres so much knowledge on here about these things.

Thanks.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I looked into getting a Stag upper to match my lower. I had bought my lower from a dealer and built it with a parts kit, so I figured I would match it with an upper from the same company. As it turns out, Stag doesn't offer an upper with a mid-length gas system, and that's what I wanted so it forced me to look elsewhere. If I were building a carbine though, I would definitely look at the Stag offerings based on what I've read. They're made by CMT.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·