AR15 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!

I'm new to ARs, but not to guns as I've been shooting/reloading since I was about 5/12, respectively. I'm considering buying my first AR in the near future, and I was wondering if yall had any suggestions on where to get a good deal on one. I wouldn't mind having to fix a part, or even building one from scratch, as I'm really good w/ instructions and manuals, and I know how to work on guns. Thanks for the help!

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
CMMG was selling some used Ars for around $550-$600 but you can also build one for about that price with new parts. I am finishing up my plain CAR build which consisted of:

Essential Arms lower $77
J&T Disturbuting 16" CAR kit $420 (dealer pricing)

Cost before upgrades and FFL fees was $497

G

·
Discussion Starter #5
They might start out cheap, but once you get the EBR fever, there is no such thing as an "inexpensive AR". :twisted:

G

·
Discussion Starter #6
not to hijack but i am in the same boat. since every one loves the xd i know u guys would know about good ar-15's. i have been looking at colt but if i could get something as good or better for the same price or cheaper.

looking more for reliable than aim if it can get a 5in group at 200yds
i would like to keep it as short as i can
light as possible
adjustable stock
a rail for sights
able to put a front grip on
uder 1400$

if some one can point me in the right direction

G

·
Discussion Starter #7
i have been looking at colt but if i could get something as good or better for the same price or cheaper.
Without it being a custom build "as good or better than Colt" would be LMT or Noveske in that order.......I'm sure I'll hear flack about it :p

G

·
Discussion Starter #8
To the OP.....CMMG bargin bin, or a kit build from Del-ton, J&T as was suggested, pick a lower with a rollmark that you like :cool:

G

·
Discussion Starter #9