AR15 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys, was hoping you could suggest some things for me to check regarding my AR-15 jamming. I have a brand new Bushmaster M4A3, and shot it for the first time on Saturday. I was running the Wolf Military Classic 55gr FMJ through it, and it was jamming quit a bit. It would fire 2 rounds, then jam. Everytime it jammed, I had to pull the charging handle, ram the forward assist, and it would fire another 2 and do the same thing. When I went rapid fire very quickly, it would cycle with no problems through a full 30 rd magazine. I fully cleaned and lubed the gun before firing for the first time per the Bushmaster manual. The range officer said the Wolf was cheap, but I have seen numerous reports of this stuff working fine in the AR. I'm a noob to the AR-15, I was hoping you guys could recommend something for me to check or do. Thanks in advance.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I would first try different ammo, (Im not a wolf hater lol and I use it) some guns just dont like it.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Was this "military classic" Wolf the lacquered or the polymer coated stuff...I have seen both.....?

I've shot both types of Wolf and haven't had any trouble. But then my Bushy was broken in by the time I tried the lacquered stuff.

What are you using for lube ? How much ?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
What do you mean by jamming? Was it failing to feed or failing to eject? I have a Bushy M4A1 and it's failed to feed a few times with Remington UMC ammo. It's worked fine with the 500 or so rounds of Wolf I've fed it.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
mvician, I was using the new polymer coated Wolf military classic. For lube I used Hoppes lube, and put it on generously like the manual said but it wasn't dripping or anything, just a healthy dose to all of the internals.

bkelm18, it was failing to feed a new round, I had no ejection issues once the round was fired.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·