AR15 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to rifles, i normally find it hard to make up my mind. I will be buying an AR or AK by the end of the year, I'm asking now cause i figure i have a lot to learn. If i buy an AK, i'll just buy one and just shoot the hell out of it:D but if i get an AR, i want to build it myself, so i can know every thing about it.

So after you buy all the pieces needed to build an AR, when you look at the price is it really worth it?

AR's seem so much more complicated than an AK so is there any video info about all the different operations of the AR (like the new M4 gas piston stuff?)

I've heard that if your AR is in 5.56 you can shoot .223? I've heard 7.62x39 is the cheapest stuff around?

I dont plan to be shooting more than 200 yards anyway! even if SHTF if your 2 football fields away from me and i'm stressed i'd probably miss anyway so should I go crazy for the accuracy of AR over the AK?

Is there anyone that has been in a situation and finds that the AR is really fragile as some claim it is?

any response will be appreciated.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I like both but I have only owned ARs. I just love the platform. Do what I should do and buy both. :)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I faced the same decision and I chose to build an AR. Reason being is the options and add ons and goodies are endless for an AR. Just my 2 cents.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I chose the AK because I could walk out of the store with a gun and some ammo and start shooting it for $400.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I like both but I have only owned ARs. I just love the platform. Do what I should do and buy both. :)

+1 only I do own both. Plus he SKS to boot (sometimes the sks is the funner of the two)