AR15 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm starting down the path of figuring out the next rifle project later this year. My thoughts are I need something scoped. Some history, I currently own 2 AR's an AK and Ruger M77 7MM MAG. Neither of the AR's are really scoped one is an A2 the other an A3 M4 Colt 6920 16" with an EoTech.

I'm considering the following:

M1A
FAL
AR10 (Not impressed with AR10)
Bolt Action .308
or
a Colt Accurized Rifle in (5.56)

I'm leaning toward the Colt Accurized Rifle just because I have two other rifles in the same caliber. The primary use is varmit/small game but for a few hundred dollars I can mount a comb on the A2 with a scope and just use it instead.

I hunt mostly varmits and elk so I'm struggling on why I would purchase a .308 other then it would be nice to have. My concern is the .308 would become a safe queen and not get shot.
I have no experience with .308 other then I've shot a M1A a few times. I was considering an M1A with a scope and potentially a can and bi-pod.

Does anyone hunt with their .308 if so what type of game?

So what are your ideas, thoughts and recommendations?

Thanks,

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
You can hunt all North American game outside of the larger bears with a .308

It will take down deer, elk, moose, and caribou.

Get a nice bolt gun in .308

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If your a handloader, you can load all the way down to 110 grain bullets for a .308 although I prefer the 125's because they carry a hight BC. Mine is tacticool but will be doing time going after coyotes and groundhogs. Im also currently building an AR thats got a 24" barrel and chambered in .204 Ruger that will be a my true long range groundhog gun.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have been wanting a .308 too - thinking something like this rifle would be a great place to start :D

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·