AR15 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
the sickness has spread. i am going to build a sbr and know what to get from the atf. but looking for opions on what to use to build one. as far as upper parts, lowers, just get the basic gun started. along with a decent silencer to go with. and i want be able to trust it if i have to use for home defense or at a match.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I highly recommend Noveske for SBR AR's. They use polygonal rifling and extended feed ramps with their match chamber on every barrel. One of my coworkers built an SBR with a noveske 7.5'' and their fire breathing pig up front. It's on a DPMS lower/RRA A4 upper and a RRA 2 stage match trigger. I dare say it's the sweetest AR i've ever fired. Next to the full auto ones at least.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'll help you out with info as much as i can, but i am no expert. i am waiting to find out if my form 1 has been approved. First thing you need to figure out is what your looking for in an SBR. I want a can eventually and want a piston retrofit. Because of this, the minimum I could go was 10.3" The piston system i want to use only works on carbine length gas systems, and most cans (silencers) are only good on 10.3" or longer. So I am going to use a CMMG 10.3" upper. If Noveske did a 10.3"'er, I'd jump on that in a second!

Once I decided on what I wanted, I drew up a trust so I wouldn't have to go thru the fingerprinting and LEO sign off. No problem really for me as a deputy sheriff, but I just don't have the time as i sleep days and work evenings. Once I was done with the trust, i completed a form 1 i downloaded. Then I signed a check for 200 bones and sent it off. Now waiting to hear back. oh yeah, you will need to get your reciever engraved per ATF regs too.

Can't wait to get all my stuff lined up.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·