AR15 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all,

First off, Im new to ARs so please forgive me. I just got me a new AR15 A1 model. What would be the easiest/best way to mount a red dot scope. Ive seen the adaptors for the handle but they are over $100! Would it be easier to get a whole new A4 upper?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Learn to use the A1 upper first ;)
Then either have the upper receiver swapped out for a flat top, or change handguards to a solid free float and mount the red dot on there.

I have a red dot sight mounted on the handguard of one of my ARs that has an A1 upper and I really like that combo.

Mike

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Why can't you mount a rail on the handle and mount the red dot that way? Doesn't the A1 handle have a hole drilled in it?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You can mount a scope on the A1 it should have a hole in the top of the handle. They sell a rail mount kit that screws through the hole. I have one for my A2 they are awesome, the scope stay's zeroed when I take it on and off. Make sure to buy a Comb for your stock because it rides high and is hard to get a good cheek weld and be constistant.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
You can mount a scope on the A1 it should have a hole in the top of the handle. They sell a rail mount kit that screws through the hole. I have one for my A2 they are awesome, the scope stay's zeroed when I take it on and off. Make sure to buy a Comb for your stock because it rides high and is hard to get a good cheek weld and be constistant.
I saw those but wasnt sure one little screw could hold the scope securely.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
You'll have to more than hand tighten the screw (gerber ninja tool was my preference) and if you're inclined, lock-tite that thing on there and no worries. You'll notice the top of the carry handle is U shaped, that adds to the stability of the rail bar you'll put there.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #11 ·