AR15 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well. saying that I will be hunting soon. probably.

I just hate to take away from the traditional A2 style. Although it is a flat top A3 with a carry handle.

Should I remove the carry handle?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have a Nikon buckmasters 3x9 on my RRA entry tactical for hunting.It works great and has great clarity.I shot a deer with it right in the neck its very accurate.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I say use the irons and give 'em a chance.. :) If you want to scope it, do it. Either way you are out there in the woods. Personally, I hunt with the irons.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
my 20 is a flattop and scoped but i only hunt paper. i liked bidah's response as well. i've only been bird hunting so i'm basically talking out of my a$$!
mas cafe' por favor

G

·
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Depends on where you're hunting (terrain) and at what ranges you're typically comfortable with taking your shots. There isn't anything wrong with scoping it and if you want to shoot irons, just put a BUIS on it and use Quick Detach rings or a single piece QD mount. Then you can swap out the scope if you want the challenge of using irons.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #9 ·

I scoped mine. Actually, this is out of date. It has a Burris Fullfield 2 on it and chases coyotes all winter. Come to think of it, I have the day off. Why am I not hunting???

G

·
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Just got back from the range. I wanted to sight in some 55 grain Black Hills soft points, and 64 grain Winchester Super X Power Points.

I got my confidence level up. I was shooting bulls at 50 yards no problem with the 55 grain. The 64 grain was a little erratic out of my gun.

The settings were +2 to the right for windage with the 55 grain, and +8 right for the 64 grain. I could hit better with the 55 grain. The 64 grain had a 1" to 1 1/2" difference. Where the 55 grain was contained in the 1" square.