AR15 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my Rock River Car A4 two days ago and already see the need for a sling. There are only about 25 different kinds out there - what brands and or models do you guys recommend for a Carry/Tactical type sling?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i bought a 3 pt tacticool sling and cant figure the damn thing out,,,,, if you can/know someone who can sew, but strapping, measure, but clips, measure, sew, cut, clip, slide.....

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I am new to all of this. Can someone explain what a one point, two point, three point sling means?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
it has to do with the number of attachment points ;)

Single point.......1 mounting point usually at rear of receiver

2 point usually mounted under front sight and rear of buttstock

3 point front and rear mounting point with another "loop" as the 3rd point

G

·
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I have several that I use. For the carbines I use the Vtac sling, which is a 2 point, or the IDF style sling.

For the rifles I use either a match leather sling, or the Garand/M14 web sling.

It is sort of like holsters as was said.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Single Points are cool but when you hump, it means you have to carry the rifle. You can't just let the rifle hang like that during serious humping.

3 Point slings are cool because you can have many configuration to suit your gear or your mood. But just way to many straps, and more straps means more chances of tangling in one form or the other.

Traditional 2-point Rifle slings are the best for humping with gear. Though not very tactical looking and old school, there is no better way to sling a rilfe for navigating through rough forest, or for a road march.

I myself like 2 point slings but longer and more padding. I need longer in case I want to sling it over the back of my neck and accross my chest.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #10 ·