AR15 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, I've become more and more interested in the AR family over the last few months and I think I've decided that I want to build one as I get the money, or buy one straight out. I've read there can be issues with franken-AR's though. Truth or myth?

I've been looking at the CMMG Bargain Bin because I'm taking a semester off but I'm still a college student, so I'm poor. $570 doesn't sound bad for your basic 16" M4 configuration, which is what I think I want.

However, I want the following stuff on it, and ONLY this stuff:

• Flip-up iron sights
  • Some type of sight (parallax free is numero uno concern)
  • Vertical foregrip of some type, this is optional really
  • Surefire flashlight (not cheap I know)
  • Rails on foregrip

Besides a sling, that's basically what I want. Not picky about anything brand name-wise except for the Surefire light. Some day I'll get a suppressor so would I be able to take the flash guard off and put a suppressor on it, or are not all barrels threaded? I'm an EBR noob so please take it easy on me... :)

Anyways, just wanted to see what you guys thought would be the best idea for the cheapest gear that is dependable and works. I can do it piece by piece, perhaps some help coming from birthday and Christmas later this year, who knows.

Thanks!

G

·
Discussion Starter #2
From everything I have read about the CMMG bargain bin rifles they are a good choice. This would leave you plenty of money to add goodies to it.

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
As far as mags go, I was thinking the USGI 30 rounders just down the page from the CMMG rifles. $9.95 apiece doesn't seem like a bad deal to me providing they're decent.

G

·
Discussion Starter #4
surefire lights are way way overated. i should know I got a couple of them. even paid $300 for one!